BOARD MEETING

Friday, June 25, 2010, 1200 GMT Teleconference Meeting Minutes

Board members and officers in attendance

Neeraj Buch, Juan Pablo Covarrubias, Jim Grove, Jake Hiller, Erwin Kohler, Luc Rens, Jeff Roesler, Tim Smith, Mark Snyder, Bo Tian, Stephan Villaret, Leif Wathne, Dan Zollinger

Call to order/Roll Call

President Snyder welcomed the board members and called the meeting to order at 1203 GMT. He stated that the primary purpose of the meeting was to review the content of the draft committee statements.

10th International Conference Update (Tim Smith)

Tim reported on the status of the planning process is as follows:

- 1) Registration for the conference hotel, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is now in place for both general registration attendees (non-government) and government employees. An online group reservation system, Passkey, is now in place and is the preferred method of hotel reservations for the conference. A link to the general reservation and government registration sites is provided at (http://www.concretepavements.org/10thiccp/accomodations.htm) at the conference website. Alternatively, reservations can be made through the Fairmont Hotels Global Reservations Centre (1-800-441-1414). Callers should identify themselves as being with the conference group for ease of booking by using the block code ICCP0712 for Government employees and block code CACA09 for general attendees.
- 2) Conference steering committee is as follows:
 - a. Tim Smith, Cement Association of Canada, CANADA (Co-Chair)
 José Balbo, University of São Paulo, BRAZIL (Co-Chair)
 Raymond Debroux, PIARC, BELGIUM
 Jake Hiller, Michigan Technological University, USA
 Mark B. Snyder, American Concrete Pavement Assn. PA Chapter, USA
 Guy Tremblay, Transports Québec, CANADA
 Sam Tyson, FHWA, USA
 - b. EUPave Representative still to be appointed.
- 3) Draft website has been upgrade to include information on the hotel registration, location, international travel.
- 4) Tim and Mark reviewed the proposal for conference management and have decided to get additional bidders for the work as the proposal was quite expensive. Another group has contacted Mark and Tim to offer their services. Mark and Tim are now reviewing the very detailed proposal to decide which activities we want to hire and external group to do and what we can do internally. The revised requirements will be sent back to Agora and a few other firms to get competitive bids.
- 5) Bryan Perrie, Anna-Carin Brink, Mark Snyder, Neeraj Buch and Tim Smith had a conference call to discuss details re technical papers logistics for the conference. It was determined that the Editorial Committee was responsible for doing the call for and

- review of abstracts and papers for the conference. The Editorial Committee is investigating the cost of having an on-line abstract and paper submittal process.
- 6) The Conference Steering Committee will choose a conference theme over the next month. If there are any suggestions submit them to me over the next two weeks so Tim can give them to the committee to consider.
- 7) The conference organizers will begin looking for sponsors for the conference. Anyone who knows companies, government organizations, etc that should be contacted please forward the name and contact persons information to Tim so he can approach the individuals for sponsorship. These companies will have their logo put on the conference website.

It was also suggested that Amy Dean will assist with the design and layout of the conference brochures. Both Amy and Laura are available to assist with the conference registration. Leif inquired about the different sponsorship levels and the benefits associated with each level. President Snyder indicated that levels of sponsorship need to be established along with the benefits associated with each level of sponsorship.

Review of Draft Committee Statements

President Snyder noted that all committee statements should have four parts: (i) mission statement that captures the overarching goal of the committee, (ii) specific goals, (iii) strategies for achieving the goals, and (iv) list of members. Once all the committee statements have been written, George Vorobieff volunteered to proof read the statements.

Activities Committee (Balbo)-Jose was not able to attend the meeting, so President Snyder initiated the discussion. It was also noted that president Snyder will not co-chair the committee. In fact, he will serve as an ex-officio member on all the committees. Board member Erwin Kohler was invited to serve on the committee and he accepted. The following suggestions and questions were raised:

- Is the mission of the committee to disseminate information or share information?
- One of the goals of the committee should be to draft a sponsorship request document and submit to the board for approval. Organizations seeking ISCP sponsorship for events will need to fill out the sponsorship request document and submit it to the ISCP board for approval.
- Should ISCP participate at conferences, such as TRB, ACI, etc?

Communication Committee (Buch) - The mission statement should include the management of the website. It was noted that this committee is responsible for all communication between ISCP board and membership. The committee membership should include international representation. The committee goals will be revised and improved in the second draft of the write up.

Editorial (Perrie and Anna-Carin)-Since the committee co-chairs could not participate in the meeting the discussion was limited to suggestions. It was suggested that the editorial committee develop a standard format for all ISCP documents.

Sustainability (Wathne and Van Dam) - Editorial comments were sent to the committee cochairs and will be reflected in the draft.

The next board meeting (teleconference) is tentatively scheduled for July 23, 2010 at 1200 GMT). The standing committee and technical committee chairs should have their revised draft

mission statements and goals ready prior to this meeting. The meeting will be devoted to discussing the revised mission statements and goals.

Respectfully submitted, Neeraj Buch Secretary-Treasurer