# **The International Society for Concrete Pavements**

### **Minutes of the Annual Meeting**

### Sunday, September 9, 2001 Fiesta Room, Disney's Coronado Resort, Orlando, Fl

#### 10:30 AM

#### 1. Welcome and Introductions

Bob Betsold called the meeting to order. All those who attended introduced themselves. A roster was passed and those in attendance signed in. Thirty-two members and guests were in attendance, as listed in the attached attendance roster.

#### 2. Overall Status Report

Shiraz Tayabji made this presentation using the slides attached to these minutes. He started off this presentation with a review of the history behind the Purdue conference and the 7<sup>th</sup> International Conference (slides 6 thru 10). As shown on slide 10, he described the work of the Steering committee on paper reviews and the selection of candidate papers for awards. A 3 CD set of past six conferences was provided for each attendee, with one file per conference proceedings (see slide 11).

Conference attendance was discussed next (slide 12). The high-level of conference attendance from Netherlands was noted and memberships increased by 250 as a result of the conference. The conference fee for government employees was reduced to \$350 and a hotel subsidy of \$25/night was provided.

Conference briefs (slides 13 and 14) and details of the award presentation at the closing session were discussed (slides 6 to 10). A reception sponsored by the Florida paving association was also slated Sunday Evening with the option moving it indoors if weather was a problem.

As far as the conference budget (slide 15), it was anticipated the society would break even. Purdue is handling receipts and payments with close out expected by the end of November. It was a considerable effort to organize and manage conference preparation. Purdue handled the paper management and the payments and receipts – for \$52,000.00. Few exhibitors showed interest in the conference because of the international nature – perhaps not many buyers present.

### 3. Report of the Nominations Committee

Shiraz Tayabji made this report using slides 1 thru 4. January 2000 to September 2001 constituted the first term of the Society. Ballots were sent out to members of record (as of May 31<sup>st</sup>). A total of 200 members were balloted and 27 ballots received. Results shown in slide 3. The new president is Shiraz Tayabji.

### 4. Secretary's Report

This report was very brief and summarized the increase in membership due to the conference and the increase in attendance from the previous conference. Discussion also focused on efforts to make future conferences more practice oriented and with less of an academic/research focus.

#### 5. Treasury's Report

This report was made by Ted Neff (see slide 15).

#### 6. Report of the Steering committee

Shiraz Tayabji, as part of the status report, made this report.

#### 7. 4-Year Strategies Plan

Shiraz Tayibji presented this portion. Plan details are provided in slides 18 and 19. The plan is oriented to respond to the membership needs and strategically consider workshops and activities of ACI and ACPA. The plan involves development of 2-year workshops where a two-year cycle may help promote more practice oriented pavement community. There is also a need to reach out to international community in this regard. Commitment was made to develop a plan in October and present it in Januarys TRB meeting.

In summary, there is a need to develop discussion-oriented workshop on design, materials, construction, etc and we need champions to carry out these activities. Development of post conference summaries and networking activities would also be a good idea.

Tuesday afternoon sessions were canceled due to unforeseen complications.

Respectfully submitted, Dan Zollinger, Secretary

# ISCP Annual Meeting January 11, 2001 Attendance List

# Name

- 1. Shiraz Tayabji
- 2. Jean Pierre Christory
- 3. David W. Pittman
- 4. Gerry Krozel
- 5. Stephen Forster
- 6. Jim Cable
- 7. Gordon Smith
- 8. Theodore L. Neff
- 9. Bob Betsold
- 10. Dan Zollinger
- 11. Adrian J. VanLeest
- 12. Jim Grove
- 13. Mark Snyder
- 14. Tom Kazmierowski
- 15. Fred Heil
- 16. Mike Darter
- 17. Katie Hall
- 18. Tom Burnham
- 19. Prasad Rangaraju
- 20. Johan Silfwerbrand
- 21. Carlos Jofre
- 22. Marcelo Alfaro
- 23. Edward H. Guo
- 24. Jim Sherwood
- 25. Juan S. Folch
- 26. J. Nobresantos
- 27. Julie Vandenbossche
- 28. Shree Rao
- 29. Roger Larsen
- 30. Jag Mallela
- 31. Jake Hiller
- 32. Lev Khazanovich